

STUDENT SENATE Minutes

Tuesday, September 18th, 2018 1:30pm to 3:00pm, Rm 227

For more information visit: AS.FullColl.edu

The duration of this meeting may change to accommodate any actions of the governing body

I. CALL TO ORDER: 1:31 PM

- II. ROLL CALL
- III. PUBLIC COMMENT

Members of the public must be given the opportunity to address the Associated Students (A.S.) Senate regarding items on the agenda as these items are taken up by the A.S. Senate. Members of the public wishing to address matters on and off the agenda will be invited to do so under "Public Comment" at the beginning of the meeting. "Public Comment" shall not exceed a maximum of **two minutes** per person, per item. None

IV. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

A. Senate Minutes from 9.4.18

A motion to approve the Senate minutes from September 04, 2018 passed unanimously (Untiveros).

V. UNFINISHED BUSINESS

A. Carebank Coordinators

Francina Avila Aguilar, Javier Duarte, Sangmin Lee, Sandra Ocampo, and Jessica Lee are interested in being CareBank Coordinators. Please email JKazarian@fullcoll.edu

B. AS Budget 2018-2019

The AS VP of Finance gave a presentation on the budget for the fiscal year.

A motion to approve the proposed AS Budget for 2018-2019 passed unanimously (Untiveros).

C. Student Representation Fee

The proposed \$2.00 SRF is projected to be added to the Spring 2019 Ballot.

D. Standing Committees

Standing Committees: Finance, Activities, Judicial, Research Planning & Resolutions, Committee on the Environment, Curriculum and Education.

VI. NEW BUSINESS

A. Ice Breaker

Everyone participated in an Ice Breaker.

- B. Committee Reports & MSPs
 - a. Executive Council

MSP to dismiss Joshua Canal as AS Senator for exceeding the number of absences (Untiveros).

MSP to approve the creation of a Healthy Campus Task Force (Untiveros).

b. Finance Committee

MSP to approve the 2018-2019 Budget (Kazarian).

MSP to approve up to \$7000 for the SSCCC and CCCSAA conferences for the Fall 2018 semester (Kazarian).

c. Activities Committee

MSP to approve up to \$150 for two Knott's Berry Farm tickets for the Pumpkin contest (Kazarian).

MSP to approve up to \$25 for a pie for the pie eating contest (Kazarian).

A motion to approve the MSPs under Committee Reports and MSPs passed unanimously (Marnell).

- d. Inter-Club Council
- C. Presentation from Cadena Cultural Center & Transfer Center

The chair moved to this item.

There were presentations for the Cadena Cultural and Transfer Centers

D. Swearing In

Sandra Ocampo was sworn in as VP of Student Senate.

Raga Kavari was sworn in as VP of Records.

Laura Sanchez, Harutyun Kejejyan, Ashley Andino, Michael Carter, Zi Jennifer Zhuang, Sangmin Lee, Sana Abbaali, Annika Thompson, Kara Regan, Francina Avila Aguilar, Guadalupe Salazar Castaneda, Wendy Hernandez Torres, Javier Duarte, Nallely Paloma Almanza, Trishia Claudine Lim, Kyle Hickey, Emily Salcido and Tonatiuh Perez were sworn in as Student Senators.

E. Approving Student Representatives

A motion to approve Alejandro Cervantes, Karen Sosa, Jooho Lee, Rosa Serrano, Andrea Estrada, Jessica Lee, Erika Gutierrez and Hannah Avalos as Student Representatives pending verification of eligibility passed unanimously (Marnell).

F. CDO Committees

A motion to extend time by 15 minutes passed unanimously (Abbaali).

Contested CDO Committee Positions:

Diversity Committee - Rosa Serrano, Tonatiuh Perez, Erika Gutierrez

PAC - Karen Sosa, Laura Sanchez, Kara Regan, Harutyen Kejejyan

Honors Program Advisory Committee- Kyle Hickey, Trishia Lim, Raga Kavari, Francina Avila Aguilar, Jooho Lee

PAC - Karen Sosa, Laura Sanchez, Kara Regan, Harutyen Kejejyan

Student Equity Committee - Alejandro Cervantes and Sergio Heziquio

Student Success Committee - Emily Salcido, Aaron Untiveros, Ashley Andino, Erika Gutierrez

Study Abroad - Trishia Lim, Jennifer Zhuang, Francina Avila Aguilar

Transfer Advisory Committee - Sandra Ocampo, Michael Marnell, Naelly Almanza, Kyle Hickey, Andrea Estrada, Emily Salcido

Foundation - Kara Regan, Sandra Ocampo, Javier Duarte

Kindercaminata - Chloe Jane Reyes, Guadalupe Salazar Castaneda, Sandra Ocampo

SSCCC - Javier Duarte, Guadalupe Salazar Castaneda, Trishia, Sergio

Faculty Senate - Emily Salcido, Kara Regan

A motion to approve Sergio Heziquio to the Basic Skills Committee, Jessica Lee to the Institutional Research and Effectiveness Committee, Hannah Avalos to the Planning, Budget, and Steering Committee, Alejandro Cervantes and Sergio Heziquio to the Student Equity Committee, Laura Sanchez and Hannah Avalos to the Student Health Advisory Committee, Sana Abbaali to the Students of Distinction Committee for Distinguished Student of the Year, Annika Thompson to the Students of Distinction Committee for Academic Achievement, Chloe Jane Reyes to the Students of Distinction Committee for Personal Achievement, Rosa Serrano to the District Equal Employment Opportunity Advisory Committee, Joshua Kazarian to the NOCCCD Citizen's Oversight Committee, Jessica Lee to the Grade Appeals Review Committee, Sangmin Lee to Students of Distinction Committee for Competitive Achievement, Annika Thompson to the Institutional

Integrity Committee, Laura Sanchez to the Students of Distinction Committee for Service Achievement passed unanimously (Perez).

A motion to extend time by 15 minutes passed unanimously (Marnell).

G. What are MSPs?

MSP stands for Motion, Second, and Pass.

VII. ANNOUNCEMENTS

The Great Shakeout will be taking place on October 18th at 10:18 AM. If you would like to volunteer to participate, please sign up in the AS Office.

Latinx Student Forum will be taking place this week.

New Senators should schedule an orientation with Stephanie.

Writers and Readers Club will be having a What is Love event on the 28th.

VIII. ADJOURNMENT: 3:30 PM